So I went to HPE Discover London and…

I’ve gotta say, I had a lovely time at HPE Discover London. If you couldn’t make it to the event or just want to re-cap there’s a load of on-demand videos from the event here.

hpe

I’ve been to lots of Aruba Networks events but never HP/HPE. I was pretty impressed by the size of the event.. over 16000 attendees! But when an event is that huge you can’t really see everything, well I couldn’t anyway, it’s just too big. I know you can pick and choose the bits you’re most interested in (wireless I assume?) but I like to soak up as much info as I can and see what’s new in all areas.

It was good to see the Aruba Networks presence there. It wasn’t a huge presence in terms of floor space but they (Dominic Orr) featured in the keynote speeches which surprisingly a large number of people walked out on. Dom did stumble a little in his delivery, which is uncommon for him, so I guess this is why?? Anyone who walked out reading this, please comment why! Maybe it was when HPE tried to give away American Football tickets and were met with.. *tumbleweed*

hpe ticktes

In terms of technology, presentations etc. I found it really interesting hearing from the HPE Labs team. They’re working on “The Machine” which discards the traditional computer architecture model in favour of a model where memory and storage are one and the same things (amongst other things). The benefits according to the Labs team are “quantum leap in performance and efficiency, while lowering costs over the long term and improving security”.

sensor

It was good to see Aruba release their Aruba Beacons management product Aruba Sensor. I would imagine it was a bit of a nightmare
managing Beacons without this… The Sensor will manage 10 or so Beacons and piggy back on your existing wireless. It should be noted that your existing wireless needn’t be from Aruba.

Here’s a Sensor in the wild at the event.

To sums things up I really enjoyed my time at the event. It was great to see the direction that the company is heading & their new products. I hope Aruba features more heavily at the next event.

I feel I must add… In the interest of full disclosure, HPE invited me to go to this event as an Independent Industry Influencer and paid for travel, accommodation and a few little treats but this hasn’t influenced my opinions.

Leave a Reply

